Strengthening career and skills necessary for economic independence as a productive and contributing member of society defines career and technical education as organized educational programs offering sequences of courses directly related to preparing individuals for employment in current or emerging occupations requiring training other than a baccalaureate or advanced degree. Programs include competency-based applied learning, which contributes to an individual’s academic knowledge; higher order reasoning; problem-solving skills; and the occupational-specific skills necessary for economic independence as a productive and contributing member of society.

The South Central Perkins Consortium establishes a structure and governance for shaping its plan to:

  • Align regional education and workforce plans (World’s Best Workforce, Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act)
  • Align strategies to cultivate awareness for need for academic and technical skills to ensure college and career success
  • Pilot strategies for career awareness, exploration and advisement for all students
  • Provide professional development that help teachers connect learning to college and careers
  • Further develop regional programs of study and guided pathway programs

Local Application Goals:

  • Goal 1: Designing programs of study
  • Goal 2: Effectively utilize employer, community and education partnerships
  • Goal 3: Improve services to special populations
  • Goal 4: Provide a continuum of service provision for enabling student transitions
  • Goal 5: Sustain the consortium structure of secondary and postsecondary institutions

Consortia Map
Minnesota school districts and community/technical colleges self-formed into 26 Perkins Consortia in 2008 to promote collaborative planning and implementation of career and technical education programs within the region.

In partnership with:

  • South Central College, North Mankato and Faribault Campuses
  • South Central Service Cooperative serves as secondary administrator for district members: Alden, Blue Earth, Butterfield, Cleveland, Faribault, Janesville-Waldorf-Pemberton, Lake Crystal Wellcome Memorial, Le Sueur-Henderson, Madelia, Mankato, Maple River, Medford, Minnesota Valley Education District, New Ulm, Nicollet, New Richland-Hartland-Ellendale-Geneva, River Bend Ed District, Sleepy Eye, St. Clair, St. James, St. Peter, Tri-City United, United South Central, Waseca and Waterville-Elysian-Morristown public area school districts.